The Early Years Foundation Stage is a two-year phase which consists of Foundation Stage One (FS1) and Foundation Stage Two (FS2).

All teaching at SVS is based on a sound knowledge and understanding of the UK ‘Early Years Foundation Stage’ Curriculum. This concentrates on 7 areas of learning that are equally vital to children’s development.

The prime areas of learning are:
Communication and Language
Communication and Language
Physical Development
The specific areas of learning are:
Understanding the World
Expressive Arts and Design

With the curriculum always in mind, our children are also immersed in elements of the most successful global early years educational practices.

At SVS we recognise the importance of choice and personal interest and truly believe that this should be encouraged and developed as a skill for life. Teaching and learning follow a ‘child-initiated learning’ philosophy, with topics and activities being decided through observations of the children’s interests maximising children’s motivation to explore a project or develop an idea. Through this approach children make use of a variety of resources and demonstrate a complex range of knowledge, skills, and understanding. Although this will involve engaging in activities that are initially introduced by an adult, the children will also make choices to change, extend, repeat or further explore resources and concepts.

At SVS we are also committed to developing future change makers and innovators. We strongly believe that when children are encouraged to tap into and use their imagination, then magical, out of the box, creative thinking is developed. At SVS we explore and encourage the children’s creativity and imagination through the curriculum and environment to develop their innovation skills.